Cheerful Optimism! Yay!

It’s been twenty years, but I’ve finally taken to heart all the criticisms of my political pessimism.  It clearly does no good to be a “downer,” or “too negative” anyway.  So, as the keystone to this year’s New Year’s resolutions, I’m presenting a more optimistic face to the world.

After all, there can surely never be another dictator like Mao Zedong, Joseph Stalin, or Adolf Hitler to spoil our natural state of freedom.  How could humanity ever again produce somebody like Pol Pot, Tojo, Jorge Videla, Francisco Franco, Leopold II or Augusto Pinochet?  The various Robert Mugabe, Somoza, Noriega, Ceaucescu, Mubarak, Batista, al-Bashir, Chavez, Saddam Hussein and Kim Jong Il types are just a rare aberrance from the human norm of wise and benevolent rulers like…

Well, that’s not important now.

Sure, there may have been a time when sick and brutal tyrants like Nero, Vlad III, Herod, Caligula and Genghis Khan were more the rule than the exception.  But certainly, now, people like Ho Chi Minh, Slobodan Milosevic, Kagame, Duvalier, Erdoğan, Calderón, and Khomeini are so rare that it’s understandable and probably even reasonable that most of us are lackadaisical about politics, and trust that our ruling class is properly taking care of our needs.  The hundreds of millions killed in the past century were just a statistical anomaly, you know.  Really, what are the odds that we will get another Chiang Kai-Shek, Enver Pasha, Hirohito, Abdul Hamid II or Yahya Khan to order such inhuman terror?

While it may seem that our government is so much more secretive, deceptive, powerful and invasive than in those simpler, gentler days of America’s peaceful and humanitarian past (setting aside, of course, transient errors like slavery, Jim Crow, experiments on soldiers and prisoners, and the genocide of millions of Native Americans), I’m sure there is no cause for concern here in the Land of The Free, where we choose our own rulers in fair and open elections!

So, no more finger-pointing warnings from me anymore.  No sir.  My message for the New Year is, just relax!  Your nation is competently, rationally, impartially and sustainably operated by people who care about you as an individual of dignity, in liberty and justice.

Just as I’ve learned my lessons about overly grave sobriety, humanity has learned its lessons about corruption and violence.  Humankind’s awful, classist, thieving and brutish history is behind us now.  All that’s left for modern Americans to do is spend our money, pay our taxes, and enjoy the peace, prosperity, justice and equality under law we all so richly deserve.

Yes, indeed, it is time we finally get what we deserve.  Happy New Year!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wedeclare.wordpress.com/2015/01/23/978/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Andy, you crack me up! I just attended the inauguration of a man I truly believe in. I have got to know him not only for his 8 years as Texas attorney general, but I’ve got to get to know him as a husband and father. His family is a great group of people (including his Hispanic mother in law and his gringo father in law. I worked hard for him last year and it paid off. I am trying now to back off politics, as it upsets everyone around me, but I cannot sit by and watch as every shred of our constitution goes flying down the road to no where. People who don’t get involved really piss me off. Especially the ones who come into the voter booth saying they don’t know anything about the candidate so they are just gonna punt!!! AAARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!!!
    Anyway, happy new year to you, too!

  2. Have you truly given up on restoring the Republic or is it sarcasm to accept the Democracy?

  3. Thanks, Mike!

  4. Allan, it’s not my job to accept anything. I offered alternatives and voters won’t have ’em!
    I tried, and it’s clear that voters have what they want, they’ll keep demanding more of the same, and there’s nothing I can do about it.
    And so, I’ll just do what I can. That’s all I can do.

  5. I think you made a super great effort and your last report indicated to me that you capitulated, that’s all. I have quit many times too, but soon picked up the struggle again. I can’t live with myself accepting the Democracy. Not that I expect to accomplish much, I realize the power I have, but the issue is more important than me.

  6. Capitulated?
    You think that’s what happened?
    This isn’t about me or you, you know. I’ve spent embarrassing, destructive amounts of my family’s time and money, and have blown innumerable career opportunities through the past twenty years of bashing my head against that brick wall called “We The People.”
    If I saw any positive signs at all, I’d still damn the torpedoes and go full speed ahead. But I see only signs that people really do have what they want, and they sure don’t want what I’m offering.
    Do you see this any other way?

  7. Seriously…I am open to suggestions.
    I’ve got to live here too.

  8. Reblogged this on Citizens, not serfs.

  9. Brilliant! Just because you’re NOT paranoid, doesn’t mean they are not after you.

  10. I am of the opinion that the U.S. federal government is the only major enemy of the People that the People have the proper exclusive power to correct.

  11. I don’t think you’re going to quit caring. You still affect the change you want to see.

  12. Correct, Mark. But I also can’t keep doing what’s been failing so badly for so long…

  13. That’s true, Allan. But The People don’t want to correct it. If they did, it’d be corrected.
    The hardest thing for me to accept is that people really want this.
    But ask people what they’d get rid of. They glorify the violence and crave the promises.
    And there you have it.

  14. That’s correct and the only disagreement I have with your political effort is it is based on a somewhat incorrect premises; a slight misunderstanding of a constitutional basic.
    The U.S. citizenry has lost its American mind, the citizenry is constitutionally, historically, and religiously ignorant.
    One person may have the ability in persuasion to change people’s mind, but no one person in a government position has the power to enact laws.

  15. “The U.S. citizenry has lost its American mind, the citizenry is constitutionally, historically, and religiously ignorant.”
    Disregarding the “religiously” part, the cause of the other two is those government indoctrination centers we euphemistically call public schools. Since the Prussian system of educating children arrived in this great nation, the goal has been to indoctrinate rather than educate, to create obedient little childlike slaves to the government rather than self aware and knowledgeable adults who understand the purpose of the Constitution and enforce it upon those elected to the government.
    The solution to this problem is twofold, end public (government) schooling (and the taxation that supports it), and educate the populace on the Constitution. I try to encourage the former every day, and drop this link to Michael Badnarik’s free 7 hour Constitution class on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wp-48d_jSb4) everywhere I can, as often as I can, in the hopes people will take advantage of it. I encourage other aware people to do the same. It is a long term solution not an instant one, but I think it worth the effort.

  16. Why disregard the “religiously” part?

    Christians support using the power and recourses of government for religious purposes; like Congress arming and funding Israel for over 65 years and teaching school students the Bible, or religious dogma, as science.

    The courts have ruled religion, by any other name, is not science and cannot be taught in schools as a science. A well known case is; https://youtu.be/Gm2nY67e6LQ

  17. As a recovering atheist, I’d argue that everybody’s religious, and fails to see their own religiosity.
    Christians are not supposed to be religious, according to Christ. They’re supposed to emulate Christ. The Christian God hates formulaic worship, showy religion, idolatry, tribalism…and, well, that’s what human government is all about (I Samuel 8:6-20).
    And, Allan, I’m a little alarmed that you’re seeing the courts as our friend!

  18. I wish not to argue definition of words but seek the truth of the matter. Religion, God, the Bible, has nothing to do with U.S. governments. U.S. governments are delegated no power, by the 1787 Constitution, regarding Citizens, Freedom , Rights, and Religion. (SC ruled Amendment 1 applies to the States too)

    U.S. governments are ruled by Law, not ruled by man, not ruled by U.S. citizens. Only Congress is empowered the legislate, make federal law. Constitutionally citizen’s federal vote only elects Representatives to the House in Congress every two years.

    U.S. citizens advocating using the power of government for religious purposes violates America’s religious Freedom.

    The courts are government courts and citizen Jurors are the dispenser of justice and the Protector of Rights in U.S. government courts. The court ruling that religion is not science and cannot be taught in school as science is correct, isn’t it?

  19. So you’re asking the courts to rule on science? I’m not OK with that either.

  20. No, I am not asking the courts to do anything. The court did decide a case filed in court and the court made the correct decision. Religion is not a science and can’t be taught in school as a science.

  21. Well, your ban on religion is a violation of the first amendment, you know. “Congress shall make no law respecting…” is the operating phrase for all the authority/powers denied politicians by the first amendment. If the federal congress can’t make a law regarding an establishment of religion or the free exercise thereof, then there can be no law to execute, and nothing to judge. It’s a total ban on ANY federal POWER in matters of religion.
    The Indiana Constitution does allow for “Common Schools” in its Article 8. But the Indiana Constitution also denies any political authority over religion excepting that the state may not fund it.
    That raises a problem in that we’d long ago violated the state funding specified by Article 8, and replaced it by local funding.
    And you’re not really talking about religion per se anyway, are you? Aren’t you referring to creationism versus the theories of Big Bang and evolution as the origin of species?
    I’m guessing that’ll be in courts again soon…
    I wish we’d teach kids the scientific method, and give them evidence to come to their own conclusions.
    But hey, I was actually trained in science and make my living in technology. What do I know.

  22. Please quit accusing me of writing what I did not write! I write about the 1787 Constitution, which is the supreme Law of the land, and citizens Duty in Citizenship under the 1787 Constitution. Citizens have only two political Rights that have a force in government and written in the 1787 Constitution, the ballot box and the jury boxes.

    U.S. citizens, constitutionally, have religious freedom. For religious freedom, and any other freedom, to remain free government must be kept out of religion and religion kept out of government.

    Knowing is often different than understanding.

  23. I like you, Allan. You’re a good guy, and I don’t mean this as an insult. But you’re wrong.
    Read the first amendment again. There’s only one operative phrase for the freedoms of religion, speech, press, assembly, petition…
    So…
    What you’re saying is that the freedom of the press is that they must be kept away from politics? That we mustn’t speak about politics?
    Knowing is indeed often different from understanding. Most people get the 1st amendment wrong. They say “hands off” to their favorite parts, yes say “forbidden!” to the parts they don’t like; when it’s all the same operator: “Congress shall make no law respecting…”

  24. Amendment #1, Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof;

    The part about religion ends at the ; , and I read the SC said under (unconstitutional) civil rights that Amendment 1 also applies to the States.

  25. Go ahead…read the rest of the first amendment. Read it. You tell me where I’m wrong…and don’t invoke the SCOTUS over the constitution. You tell me where I’m wrong about what the first amendment actually says.
    All the freedoms. Don’t stop until you get to the period.
    It’s just one sentence. The semicolon didn’t end it.


Leave a Reply

