My last blog, again.

Well, I’ll be doggoned.  I’ve not been a total failure after all.  After fifteen years, I’ve finally heard some good news.

Remember my “Sound Moneyproposals?  Paul Caudell is a longtime sound money proponent, and Jerry Titus is a hardworking bulldog.  Those two opened a website and really went to work after I got discouraged and gave up.  Indiana State Senator Greg Walker (District 41) filed the proposal as Senate Bill 453. 

Really.

Who’d have thought it? 

Wow!

Thank you, Senator Walker!

Now your job is to support both the bill, and our friend in the Indiana Senate.

But wait, there’s more.  Much more.

If you’ve read this spot before, you know that my political issue (really, my only issue) is that politicians violate the laws that protect us from them.  I want the constitutions, as written.  No provisos, no cheating, no ifs, ands or buts. 

That’s it.  I want federal politicians to obey the federal constitution, and I want state politicians to obey the state constitutions.  I want, in other words, for politicians to obey their oaths of office.  I want, in still other words, the Rule of Law that we’re supposed to have…by law.

So pursuant to this gentle obsession, I’ve authored dozens (maybe  of proposals, resolutions, briefs, petitions and pleas.  I tried to start a 527 org (The Freedom Farm is now defunct), and I ran several campaigns pretty much solely on the issue of constitutional compliance.

I found that voters just aren’t voting that way, however, so, ultimately, I got discouraged and gave up.

Then, whaddya know…more friends, this time Sean Shepard and Senator Mike Delph (District 29), took up the cause. 

Here’s the text of what I’d most recently submitted; it’s far briefer than the earlier versions last sent to the General Assembly in 2003:

 

Indiana Resolution

 

WHEREAS

James Madison and Thomas Jefferson understood the letter and intent of the Constitution for the United States of America;

 

These men, working on behalf of the states of Virginia and Kentucky (respectively) authored the “Virginia Resolution” and “Kentucky Resolutions” of 1798 to 1799;

 

The legislatures of the states of Virginia and Kentucky passed these resolutions less than ten years after their ratification of the Constitution for the United States of America, affirming those states’ understanding of the letter and intent of that contract;

 

That this Indiana Resolution affirms the plain sense of those resolutions insomuch as:

a. The States are the owners and defenders of federalism.

b. The Constitution for the United States of America is a contract to be obeyed as written.

c. The federal government has no legal right to exercise powers not specifically granted to it by the Constitution for the United States of America.

d. Any powers exercised outside constitutional authority are legally void, and should be allowed no force or effect

 

RESOLVED

That the General Assembly of Indiana, having sworn or affirmed oaths to support both state and federal constitutions, does unequivocally support those contracts;

 

That the powers not unambiguously and specifically delegated to the United States federal government by the Constitution of the United States, nor prohibited by it to the states, are held by the states, or by the people.

 

That the states who form the union and who in compact validate the US Constitution and the federal government thus formed, being by the US Constitution both legally independent and sovereign, have the unquestionable right to judge of its infraction; and that a nullification, by those sovereignties, of all unauthorized acts done under color of that instrument, is the rightful remedy.

 

That the Governor be asked to transmit a copy of the foregoing Resolutions to the President of the United States and to the Governor of each of the other states, with a request that the same may be communicated to the Legislature thereof; and that a copy be furnished to each of the Senators and Representatives representing this state in the Congress of the United States.

 

###

 

Will either of these proposals succeed?  I doubt it, but I sure don’t know.  It’s more up to you than it is up to me.  But I have learned not to be so quick to get discouraged and give up…

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wedeclare.wordpress.com/2009/01/19/my-last-blog-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would LOVE to see this passed.

  2. As I sit here tonight, mourning the death of my country, I certainly wouldn’t be the person to give any Pollyannaisms to others who are feeling disgusted and hopeless. It would be pointless and a little disrespetful….we all have good reason to be discouraged, sad, and very fearful. I do want to tell you, brave Mr. Horning, a few things that I think are important for you to know.

    I am one of the 56,000 that voted for you. In fact, my husband and I voted for the first time in our lives, for you.( He’s 33, I’m 31) Voting for you is the only thing I am proud of coming out of this horrid, scary, depressing election. I would do it again, and, if you do stay in the state, I will write your name in and vote for you even if you don’t run. Might even write you in for president…lol. This is assuming Obama doesn’t get himself made Emperor for Life. Furthermore, my 65 year old,lifelong Republican father-in-law voted for you after I sent him to your website.

    I understand your spiritual fatigue at preaching to the choir or to those who cannot yet hear and, as the freedom-of-the-individual-loving gal I am would never want you to do something you didn’t want to do but I think your voice and your leadership are important. There can never be a revolution if there aren’t people waiting to seize the moment and speak when the masses are ready to hear the rallying cry. That time IS coming.

    You matter. What you’ve done matters. You may be just Andy Horning from Freedom, Indiana, but you’re Patrick Henry to me.

  3. Wow. Heather, I am stunned and honored way beyond my ability to express it. This hardly conveys what I’m feeling, but …that was an awfully nice thing to say.

  4. Have I strayed off the reservation? I hate to challenge you in the future, but I think there needs to be some new blood. I’m probably looking at a heinous defeat at the hands of Andre Carson. What do you think? http://www.conservativedonnybrook.com/2009/02/06/drawing-a-line-in-the-sand/


Leave a Reply

