Obama or no; there’ll be no change for the better this year

This is pretty disappointing to me; but probably not for the reasons you think.  Yes, the Howey poll puts me at 3% on Election Day.  But that’s about what I’d come to expect.  In traveling the state and talking to people I became convinced that we’ll once again tell the entrenched powers, “atta boy, keep doing what you’ve been doing to us!”  Our collective votes will be wasted again.

Sigh.

But that’s not what’s so disappointing.

Here’s what I think is disappointing:

On a scale of 1-10, voters say that their level of interest in this campaign season is 9.42.  And, sure enough, 99% of voters know who Mitch Daniels is.  (one must wonder about the one percent who have no idea who’s governing Indiana’s government, but that’s another matter)

Only 84% of voters, however, are aware of Jill Long Thompson, who’s the Democrat running against Mitch.  And worse (for me, of course), only 29% of voters have heard of me.

So at least 71% of those polled don’t know their choices in the voting booth!

On one hand, it will assuage my delicate sensibilities on Election Day knowing that most voters didn’t even know that I was on the ballot.  That “wasted vote syndrome” deceit will never enter their mind because they’ve got no idea to whom it could apply.  They’re not voting against the constitution, since they don’t know it’s on the ballot.   They’re not consciously choosing the anticonstitutionalists because they have no idea that there is an alternative.  That does make me, personally, feel a little better, in a way.

But on the other hand, ladies and gentlemen, this is no way to run a government.

Of course God is in control of all things and I shouldn’t fret it.  No human government can last. 

All government is, in one way or another, by consent of the governed.  Our governments always reflect who we are as social creatures.  And we are fallen creatures indeed.  We choose all the problems we suffer.  And the level of ignorance displayed by citizens and reflected in politicians today simply cannot continue. 

It will end.  Probably quite badly.

That is pretty disappointing to me.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wedeclare.wordpress.com/2008/10/29/obama-or-no-therell-be-no-change-for-the-better-this-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Obama or no; there’ll be no change for the better this year This is pretty disappointing to me; but probably not for the reasons you think.  Yes, the Howey poll puts me at 3% on Election Day.  But that’s about what I’d come to expect.  In traveling the state and talking to people I became convinced that we’ll once again tell the entrenched powers, “atta boy, keep doing what you’ve been doing to us!”  Our collective votes will be wasted again. Sigh. But that’s not what’s so disappointing. Here’s what I think is disappointing: On a scale of 1-10, voters say that their level of interest in this campaign season is 9.42.  And, sure enough, 99% of voters know who Mitch Daniels is.  (one must wonder about the one percent who have no idea who’s governing Indiana’s government, but that’s another matter) Only 84% of voters, however, are aware of Jill Long Thompson, who’s the Democrat running against Mitch.  And worse (for me, of course), only 29% of voters have heard of me. So at least 71% of those polled don’t know their choices in the voting booth! On one hand, it will assuage my delicate sensibilities on Election Day knowing that most voters didn’t even know that I was on the ballot.  That “wasted vote syndrome” deceit will […] […]

  2. My name is Barbara and my family had to move from Madisonville KY to Evansville Indiana. I am a registered republican who doesn’t vote the party line, I vote on the issues. The greatest issue to me is doing God’s holy will. As a catholic who actually practices and believes my faith, I will not be voting my belly (my own economic welfare), nor will I be voting my groin (abortion “rights” and homosexual “marriage”).

    We lost our house in the mortgage mess and now live in a duplex. We will not be able to purchase a house in our lifetime. This does not mean I will seek other peoples’ money. I despise any candidates who, once they get into office, raise taxes for anyone and everyone and passes those tax revenues to their constituants.

    I vote my well-formed conscience and I believe you are the stronger candidate but I need to know where you stand on the abortion issue. That is the primary issue of concern for me.


Leave a Reply

