Time out for a fond farewell…

I just wanted to say goodbye to J. Patrick Rooney; a former gubernatorial candidate himself, and a man who earned a lot of money…and did a lot of good with it.

While he didn’t fund my campaign (the best possible use for anyone’s money), he did put his money where his mouth was in education choice, healthcare/insurance choice, and from time to time, politics. 

The last time I saw him was at a Friedman Foundation event just a few weeks ago.  He spoke some very, very encouraging words for me; and I am very, very sorry that he’s gone.

Even so, he lived to a ripe old age, and as far as I can tell, he has even better times ahead of him now.

Good bye, sir.  I trust you have now heard the words, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

Published in: on September 16, 2008 at 9:20 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wedeclare.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/time-out-for-a-fond-farewell/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Pat Rooney lived by the Sermon on the Mount, which he read and referenced often. His mission was to do good in the world, and he had huge heart for children, particularly the disadvantaged. I was with Pat one day when someone asked him why he started the Choice Charitable Trust, a nonprofit organization that used private contributions to give poor children scholarships to attend the school of their choice. Pat said (with his signature wry smile on his face), “I am trying to buy my way into heaven.” He chuckled, then leaned over to me and whispered, “That’s okay, isn’t it?” Pat did not want to sound too crass, yet he was an honest man who wanted to express in clear terms that he was helping poor children because he believed that this is what the Lord called upon him to do. He was just trying to keep his end of the bargain.

    This is also the reason why Pat slept only about three hours each night. He believed that if he slept more than that, he would be wasting his life, and that would be a great sin. Pat saw life as a precious gift, not to be squandered.

    As a result of my friendship with Pat, I have two books that are near to my heart and that express quite a bit about the man who gave me those books: “The Sermon on the Mount”, and “Capitalism and Freedom”, by Milton Friedman.

    I will miss Pat Rooney. May God welcome him with open arms. He’s earned it.

  2. Very nice; very well said. Thank you, Leslie.


Leave a Reply

