Journalists for Medical Experiments?

In an 1873 speech Mark Twain called journalists ““…a horde of ignorant, self-complacent simpletons who failed at ditching and shoemaking and fetched up in journalism on their way to the poorhouse. In that same speech he also said, “There are laws to protect the freedom of the press’s speech, but none that are worth anything to protect the people from the press.

 

Why do I mention this now?  Oh, I don’t know.  I just think Twain was a very interesting fellow, that’s all.  Certainly, I’d never say anything so rude about the big-corporation/conglomerate-owned, politically enmeshed, 49th percentile press of today.  Certainly not.

 

On a completely unrelated subject, certainly not connected in any way to the previous Twain quote, I had another press conference today.  No reporters showed up, though FOX did at least send a cameraman.  It seems to be the thing in this election season.  I had one press conference to which no media showed up, but WIBC later did a report on the subject.  That was the best coverage I’ve gotten so far from any major media outlet since our July 4 event, which was dismissed as a “small crowd of tax protesters.”

  

 

Not in many years have I felt so shut out of the democratic process by our media gatekeepers. 

 

Why?  Have we given up hope of a Cinderella-story or a come-from-behind victory?  Are we thinking we have too many choices in the voting booth this year?  Are voters just so terribly satisfied with the entrenched powers that be? 

 

Surely it must be something like that.

 

Because in very public places with lots of witnesses, I’ve proposed a moratorium on speed traps until our government gets some of its lawlessness under control.  I’ve proposed completely eliminating personal property tax.  I’ve proposed eliminating the CPS/DCS child-snatching bureaucracy and replacing it with Rule of Law (no child is taken from a parent without a criminal conviction by due process).  In fact, I’ve proposed leashing our government from top to bottom to the laws to which all policemen, politicians and even new citizens swear an oath of support.

 

I’ve proposed, in other words, a complete, stem-to-stern, Indiana to Washington, D.C. overhaul of government according to the proven principles and practices that once made this nation the most prosperous, free and secure nation of all time.

 

I’ve even called politicians criminals in violation of their oaths and the laws that protect us from them.

 

Does any other gubernatorial candidate have any proposal, statement or fact to trump that?

 

No reporter ever showed to any of my press conferences, but I’ve heard an awful lot about JLT’s “Green Jobs,” against “Our Man’s” supposed job creation record.  If Mitch says something, the media folk ask Jill what she thinks about it.  If Jill sneezes, they ask Mitch if he’ll say “gesundheit.”

 

There are only THREE candidates on the ballot.  Would it be so hard to throw in a mention of that guy with all the proposals and facts and such?

 

Apparently it is too hard for our understaffed, overworked journalists.  So every day I have to answer the question posed by voters, “So with all these proposals and facts and such, why haven’t I heard of you before?”  This puts me into a bit of a mood, I confess. 

 

I do have several friends even in the big-corporate media, and my heart goes out to them.  They’ve got it tough these days with all the buyouts and mergers and layoffs.  Certainly, their corporate bosses have an agenda, and they’ll get the boot if they run afoul of that robbing-Peter-to-pay-Paul agenda.  You have to be an extraordinarily brave soul to risk losing your job for a mere trifle like the truth.  

 

Nevertheless, I sure wish y’all would write letters, make phone calls, or do whatever you can to make the media work for you instead of for the entrenched powers.  Remind journalists that you can either buy their product…or not.

 

On another unrelated subject, I’m reminded of the Norwegian playwright Henrik Ibsen, who once wrote, “It is inexcusable for scientists to torture animals; let them make their experiments on journalists and politicians. 

 

Ibsen was an interesting fellow.

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wedeclare.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/journalists-for-medical-experiments/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My wife got a call the other day from some pollster. They asked the typical questions on who are you voting for? What do you think of this issue or that? etc… When the question came to the Indiana Gubenatorial race my wife was asked if she was voting for Mitch or Jill. My wife exclaimed that there was a Libertarian candidate running, Andy Horning, and she was voting for you. The pollster didn’t even have you on the list! This is criminal Andy!
    Who owns the media cartel / monopoly? Endless drug commercials, with side effects that are worse than the original ailment. Anyone who does an honest study on Pharmaceutical companies and thier influence will be shocked. Check out all the You Tube videos on IG Farben. Or Monsanto if you really want an Orwellian mind freak.
    Conspiracy theory aside…the John Birch Society originated in Indiannapolis almost 50 years ago. They have a strong…and growing (thanks to Ron Paul)…grass roots network. They are all die hard Constitutionalists! I have been out of the movement for quite some time, but am currently trying to reconnect.
    I am thinking of the “New American” magazine…:) I haven’t read one in quite awhile, but since I got my computer a few months ago, I visit the site often. Bob Barr recently had an interview in it. Why not Andy Horning? Heck, you could be a contributing author! Every John Bircher in Indiana would read your interview and instantly support you…:) I do…:)
    Just a thought.

    PS After hearing John F. McManus on Ron Paul’s Rally for the Republic earler this month I feel good about this idea.

  2. Hmmm…that’s a good idea. If you find any Indiana contacts, could you get me hooked up too?

  3. This wind today was something else! Just got the power back a little bit ago. Was out for almost 6 hours today! I am going to JBS sites now and seeing what they have in the way of contact info.
    Here’s John F McManus. I wish I were there at that event up in Minnesota. It must have been awesome! I watch as much videos like this as possible to keep my batteries and morale charged…enjoy…

    Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obgsT03oqS4

    Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fiI25K78X7M

  4. I went and got into JBS forum and put in a good word for you. Maybe you could go in and introduce yourself…:) A couple good Constitutional questions were posted, maybe you have the answer. I had to register, but it only took a couple minutes. I checked the forum out and alot of like-minded individuals in there. I added it to my favorites. Here’s the link…

    http://jbsforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=102

    Check out the “Gubanatorial race to look at…”…:)

    I also got into the “New American” website last night and sent an email to the 4 winds…I should get a reply in about a week. Basically I am requesting for you to get an interview in the New American and I asked for the person I contacted to send the message to John F.McManus himself. I told the contact that the situation is dire concerning the media blackout on you, and I explained the one cameraman from FOX thing! That really ticks me off!

    Enjoy the forum…GOD bless my friend, hopefully the calvary will be coming…:)

  5. Boredom is a vital problem for the moralist, since at least half the sins of mankind are caused by the fear of it.BertrandArthurWilliamRussellBertrand Arthur William Russell, 1872-1970


Leave a Reply

