Constitution Day…by “federal mandate?”

Now, this is fascinating.  In the most incredibly ironic way, it is very, very fascinating. 

 

As of May 24, 2005, “federal law,” (look up “federal” and compare it to “unitary” government) in the form of the Federal Register, Volume 70, Number 99, says that “educational institutions receiving Federal funding are required to hold an educational program pertaining to the United States Constitution on September 17 of each year.”

 

Also, and perhaps even more ironically fascinating, is that “…the U.S. Office of Personnel Management will be making available to all Federal agencies, information to help train and educate Federal employees on the Constitution and, in particular, its relationship to the Oath of Office Federal employees take.” (I added the red italics just because this is so darned fascinating.

 

OK, so if you know anything about me, you know that I’m all about constitutional education and the Rule of Law it really should entail.

 

But what’s fascinating about a federal mandate to educate people on the constitution, is that it’s an unconstitutional mandate!  It’s completely illegal!

 

 

 What’s fascinating about the constitution’s “relationship” to constitutional office-holders’ oaths of office, is the very nature of each pledge to uphold and defend the constitution, typically “against all enemies, foreign and domestic.”

 

…Relationship?  It’s all about the constitution! 

 

And what is a constitution, after all?  It’s restraint on power.  It’s a leash on politicians, not on you.  And who should be controlling the leash – politicians, or you?

 

Which brings me to what is most fascinating about a mandated Constitution Day, and all the “educational resources” the government pushes onto us:

 

How would you feel about a fox teaching hens self-defense?  How’d you feel about Stalin preaching brotherly love?  Well, that’s how I feel about politicians feeding us “information” about the constitution!

 

It’s up to you to leash your dog.  You need to clean up its messes too.  Please start here, and then read this.

 

It won’t take long for you to educate yourself.  You don’t want politicians to help you; because if you read it yourself, you’ll learn that most of what they do is illegal! 

 

And isn’t reading it yourself, and holding your politicians to this precious contract, what Constitution Day should be all about?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wedeclare.wordpress.com/2007/09/16/constitution-day%e2%80%a6by-%e2%80%9cfederal-mandate%e2%80%9d/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Reading this tonight reminds me of a phone call I had today. My daughter got a Scholastic News magazine for Constitution week. When I looked through it I was disappointed to see that the three main points they taught were:

    We all vote for our leaders

    We all use the same money

    We can say what we want as long as we don’t hurt anyone.
    _____________________________________________________

    It was the last one I chose to pick on. I called Scholastic and told them I felt this was a misrepresentation of the freedom of speech. They told me they would forward the complaint, and that they may change it next year if enough people complained. I was outraged! Until enough people complained they would misinform CHILDREN about their constitution??!!

    Today I got a call from my daughter’s school letting me know that a woman from Scholastic called in regard to a comment I had made about an issue and that the woman seemed impressed. So the school didn’t want to give out my information, but called me with hers. I returned the call and left a message.

    When I got my call back the woman explained to me that they had debated how to explain the freedom of speech to first graders and that was how they chose to describe it. She asked for my opinion, so I told her I thought it would be better represented by saying “You can say what you want as long as it is true”. She felt that was a great way to explain it and said that next year they will be doing another issue for Constitution Week. She explained that it was federally mandated that they teach it to receive funding. In any event she said she would like to use my phrasing if I didn’t mind for the next issue. I told her I would love that.

    It’s still not the best representation, but better than what they had.

    Angela

  2. Good for you! You won one for freedom. Thank you.

  3. No problem, it was my duty as a mother and an American citizen. I now know that one voice can make a difference.

  4. Regarding, “We can say what we want as long as we don’t hurt anyone.”

    Such has become the mantra of hate crime proponents.

    The greatest defenders of free speech are, of course, Libertarians. The exception comes (unfortunately) when free speech clashes with the government-imposed gay agenda. Then Libertarians grow deafly silent and, by virtue of default, side with big-government censorship.

    Case in point…

    The Guardian (Britain) reports that, “Inciting homophobic hatred will become illegal, [Britain’s] justice secretary, Jack Straw, announced last night, following a campaign by gay rights groups.”

    And, “Evangelical Christian groups have argued that Christians who criticised gay sex could be jailed for up to seven years and warned it would be used to censor the expression of religious beliefs.” [source]

    Let’s hava (British for “have a”) look.

    The following bit (Britsh for “portion” or “segment”) from the Bible says, “If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination: they shall surely be put to death; their blood shall be upon them” (Leviticus 20:13).

    John Ray, Libertarian of note who understands the danger of the gay agenda, observes, “If that doesn’t ‘incite hate,’ I don’t know what would.”

  5. ps – For more on free speech visit, http://snorphty.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

